About Me

My photo
"There is nothing better than being on the water." Captain Argyle Arbuckle

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Checkers the Chinchilla

                 In chapter one we meet Ryeland, Babette, the Borderlesters and a few other characters from Brixham, England.  We also briefly meet two crew members from the ominous pirate ship in the harbor, Yatzee and Checkers.  I wanted to share an artist’s rendering of the character of Checkers and little bit more about the chinchilla’s background.  Checkers is from the South American country of Chile and received his nick name while hustling the game of checkers during his time in the Caribbean before he joined a pirate ship. Very few know his real name, but it is revealed  in the second book on a journey back to his home. He is the weapons expert on the ship and is keen on blowing things up when necessary…or when not necessary.

Monday, August 20, 2012


           When a midnight excursion to the seashore goes terribly awry, eleven-year-old British sheep Romney Borderlester and his precocious little sister, Babette, accidentally become stowaways on a pirate ship.

Romney and Babette join the crew of swashbuckling animals on a quest with Captain Argyle, a Scottish ram, in search of a legendary stone to help him find his twin brother who mysteriously disappeared five years ago.  Romney breaks free from his shy shell, adapting to his nautical surroundings, and even finding friendship among the pirates.

Everything seems to be going swimmingly until Babette gets stolen away by Horace the Horrible Hare, captain of the Carnivorous Coral and the scurviest pirate in all the seven seas!

 Romney, Argyle and the crew race to rescue Babette, as she holds a key to finding the ancient artifact. It is no longer just drawing the attention of rogue pirates, but also that of the Royal Navy and the Dutch and Greek Fleets.  Faced with the prospect of losing his sister forever, Romney must help Argyle on his quest and join in the sea battle between three nations!

Complete at 87,000 words, The Sheepish Pirate is a children's chapter fantasy novel that will appeal to fans of Treasure Island, Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH, and Wind in the Willows. This is a stand-alone novel with series potential.